Rifles in 300 WSM

graylake

I am looking to get a 300 WSM and would like something in a slightly heaver contoured barrel for accuracy.

I have not found anything out there so far. Does anybody have any rifle that I am missing. Or do I have to have something built.

I am looking for a rifle to be used for sheep and deer.
So I want the weight to be down slightly.

I am looking to shoot out to 500 yards.

I am looking to all of the more experienced shooters out there. I have a 30-06 that I have been using for almost 20 years and I would just like a new rifle, that I could set up for longer shooting.

The only other problem is that I am up in Alberta so some of the selection is limited.

Thanks for your help

Sid

I just purchased my first 300WSM about a month ago. Every load I've shot in it has been sub 1MOA and I found a load this morning that was well below that. Shot a .240", .304" and a couple .5" groups this morning with 165gr bullets at 3000fps.

The rifle is a Savage 12FVSS (short action, plastic stock, stainless steel, varmit contour). I put a 3.5x15x50 Nightforce NXS on top using the Dednutz one piece mount. I didn't touch the trigger, as it comes with the lighter Accutrigger.

Although the rifle is essentially stock, I did purchase a go-gauge, action vise and barrel nut wrench. I replaced the recoil lug with a machined lug and lowered the headspace from .012" to .0015". (took all of 10 minutes).

The stock is the weak link as its really flimsy, I have a Laminate A5 from Joel Russo on order, which should make it as fine a rifle as can be had for the money.

I found the rifle on Gunbroker, they can be bought (buy it now) for around $560 + shipping.

HTH,

AJ

i have the 12 BVSS but in 308 i have it in a joel russo A5 laminate but you can get them in 300wsm . i got it off of gunbroker from sportsman safari

JIM

Last edited: