Resize 300RUM to 7RUM

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Captn C, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. Captn C

    Captn C Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    I am gearing up to reload for the 7RUM and ran into a bunch of once fired 300 RUM brass.

    Can I neck it down and use it?

    Any problems if I did?

    7RUM brass is kind of expensive and there seems to be a bunch of 300RUM brass laying around....
     
  2. NYLES

    NYLES Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Yeap, but I havent found any expensive 7rum brass i get remmy brass for $22 a fifty.
     

  3. Captn C

    Captn C Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007

    Where?

    I was looking around on the web and it was 1/3 more than 300RUM. I also couldn't find many who had it.

    Thanks Nyles!
     
  4. NYLES

    NYLES Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    773
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Local reloading shop.....might be $24 a fifty. Remember Full lenght on that once fired 300 stuff.
     
  5. davewilson

    davewilson Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    i've run the 300 into a 7FL die and didn't have any problems. of course it was new stuff. would be nice if you had a bushing die. could get an in between size bushing and go in 2 steps but i don't think that will be necessary. try one and if it gives you any trouble, you might have to anneal the necks. when i did this my necks had concentricity issues.