Remington model 7 SS magnum

Gunnersaw1

Hi
I am new to this web site. I am really glad I found all of you,I have learned a lot already. My next rifle is going to be a .300 For elk, moose, and long range shooting. I am not a real big guy. 6ft 185 lbs. I picked up a model 7 the other day and it fit me like a glove. Well the only option in this rifle is .300 SAUM. 22" barrel. I was really considering 300WSM or 300 WM with longer barrels. But this rifle fits me better than anything else I have tried. Does any one have one of these and how do you like it. How is the recoil in the smaller gun. Thanks

I set that same gun up for a co-worker , the recoil isin't bad but you know its their and its pretty loud. The loads I worked up for him are a 180gr Nosler Ballistic tip running out at around 2900fps maybe a little bit slower but this was the most accurate load shooting around 5/8" at 100yds , I was able to ring a 10" gong at 500yds consistanly giving the gun a miniut or so between shots and in no wind. He has taken several deer with it out to 300yds and none went further than 50-60yds.
With the BC of the 180gr Accubond being listed as the same as the 180 ballistic tips I think that this would be a great gun for elk out to 400yds.

I'm not sure what work in involved in making the M-7 feed the WSM cases but the 300 and 7mmRSUM arn't far enough behind to worry about velocity gain so long as its accurate.
But if all else fails then you can have it rebarreled with a 26" tube that will help get it back up into the true magnum class velocity.

Not a model 7,but Kirby has just finished working over a 300 SAUM Sendero for me,hope to get it to the range next month.My son (14 & about 140lbs) has a model 7 7mm SAUM and loves it,fits him like a glove.I also have a model 7 in 223 I use for coyotes and love the way it comes up to the shoulder and seems to fit so naturally.