Rem.700 build upgrade advice

rugersmygun

First I am on a budget and I am not a competition shooter but I might like to try it out and I have a place that I can shoot out to a 1000yds for fun. Here is what I have this is not a hunting rifle its been a safe queen and I thought it would save me some cash to use this instead of a custom build...

Remington VS Sendero Special
300 win. mag
24" barrel
HS prec. stock

Remember I am on a budget and lets say for now it would be $1000 and I am looking to improve on what I have and be competitive with the guys around here (Bowling Green KY). I want to get the most bang for my buck so where do I start new barrel,trued action,new stock? I hope you guys can help and sorry for all the silly questions but as you can tell I'm a noob and all advice/suggestions will be appreciated!! Thanks Jason

Great rifle to work with. Before I had the action trued new barrel etc. I would see how well it groups. You might not need to do much at all. I would go with a good scope that is 20x or more with side focus and has enough adjustment for 1000 yards.Things to look at, I would put both action screws at 45 inch lbs, and have your trigger adjusted for the best weight for you.Too heavy of a trigger pull will make long range accurate shooting very difficult.

Great rifle to work with. Before I had the action trued new barrel etc. I would see how well it groups. You might not need to do much at all. I would go with a good scope that is 20x or more with side focus and has enough adjustment for 1000 yards.Things to look at, I would put both action screws at 45 inch lbs, and have your trigger adjusted for the best weight for you.Too heavy of a trigger pull will make long range accurate shooting very difficult.