reloading preferences?

cfish36

I am just getting started on reloading with a friend and I am trying to figure out what to buy for neck turners, dies, lubricants, cleaning media, etc. we have a rcbs rockchucker press and I was given rcbs dies with my gun but any imput would be great as to what everyone likes the best.

We have used walnut shell media and lyman corncon green media but the lyman leaves a residue that has to be wiped off (kind of a pain)

We have a rcbs neck turner but it doen't seem to be trimming all brass to the same length (off by .008 or so). Maybe this isn't a problem?
I don't know. I am trying to be very meticulous as to get the best consistancy and accuracy.

A local gunsmith told me that lubricants have different affects on accuracy if not cleaned off properly; is this true?

I have just finished loading some 175g sierra gamekings using various amounts of both Reloader 25 and IMR 7828. I hope to go shooting this weekend to see how they do. If I am not happy I might try some 160g accubonds, but we'll see what happens.

I am also trying to find new remmington 7 stw brass. I found several sites on the web that carry them, but nobody has any in stock. Has anyone been able to find some? Please let me know!!

Thanks and hope to learn lots on this great adventure of reloading

I use (hornady ?) "one shot" Lubricant and it seems to work really well. I have also used Lyman spray lube. I use the corncob media and haven't had problem w/ the residue since it doesn't leave any on my cases. Your trimmer suprises me. I have an RCBS trimmer that is good to .001" consistency. I did however have to shim the shell holder on the mount to make everything line up perfectly. When I would put the cutter guide to the case mouth it was not centered, so I corrected the problem with good old electrical tape.