Reloading for 30-378 wby

jonparbst

I am brand new to reloading and my RCBS kit is on the way, I was wondering if there were any Weatherby guys out there who have loads they like for the 30-378. I have the Accumark rifle it shoots factory stuff great, but Im tired of paying $120+ per box of 20. Any suggestions you guys have are much appreciated from powder to bullets to primers, etc.
Jon

My 30-378 likes 120gr. of 50BMG with a 180gr Hornady SST shoots one ragged hole. But I must warn you what my gun likes yours may not. 120gr is a very hot load. I would recommend a reliable loading manual and start at the low end and work my way up. Good luck! and Welcome to the art of hand loading.

98 gr of H-1000 over a Fed 215 M primer and under a 210 Berger Hunting VLD seated at mag box length which will be about 3.800" Expect 3050 fps, from a 26", 3120 from a 30" great accuracy and great killing potential to way out there.
This is my old tried and true load for the 30-378 load I hunted with for a few years with great success. It is very easy on that expensive and very soft Weatherby brass too.

But today we have the option of the 215 Berger Hybrid which could be substituted for the 210. And also the 230 which you should drop about 6 gr on the charge and work back up watching for pressure.

Good luck,

Jeff

+1 for the Berger 210 VLD and 215M primers. Hope you saved the brass from the factory ammo. Search LRH site for tips on accurate reloading. You may need to try several powders and seating depths to dial it to minimum groups. Mine shoots H50 BMG, US869 and Retumbo equally well. Currently using Retumbo since I have a ton of it. Will test loads with the 215 Hybrid when I find some locally. As rdsewell said, all rifles are different and like different load combinations. Do your research first. Start with lower charges and work up. Be safe and good luck