Rebarrel Rem 700 SA

RBrowning

I currently have a Remington 700 VSSF in 22-250. I have used it primarily on P' dogs and a few wood chucks. Now I am thinking of having it rebarrelled for deer hunting. I have never done anything like this before and was wondering what all has to be changed out. Can the barrel be remachined or do I need new? Does the bolt need to be modified or swapped out? What cartridges, suitable for deer would fit this action? Would I be money ahead just buying another rifle?

I got lot's of questions, just not many answers. I appreciate any input You can share.

Rick Browning

Rick-

It's actually an easy job, for a qualified gunsmith. All that you should need is a new barrel. Everything else can be re-used. Expect to spend $300, maybe more, depending on what you want.

As for a new cartridge, any short action caliber with the medium (308) head size will work. A partial list suitable for your rifle, and deer, would include 243 Win, 250 Savage, 260 Rem, 7mm-08, 308 Win, etc. Anything along those lines will work with no modifications.

Emailme offline for some specifics and a good 'smith recommendation if you're interested.

RBrowning

Your rifle has a .473 diameter bolt face or small bolt face the actual measurement may vary between rifles but generally it is around .473.

If you have access to a lathe then it's quite an easy job.

There are many methods employed by an even a greater number of gunsmiths.
You'll need an action wrench and barrel wrench.

One way and I do not recommend this, but is to heat the action up to a light blue color and let it sit until its cool. According to the person who uses this method you do not need a wrench or barrel wrench. Just a vice and a piece of metal the thickness of the bolt ways. Problem with this method is you can alter the molecular structure and weaken the strength of the action.

The threads on a Rem action are 1 1/16-16 or 1.0625-16. You'll need to order a tap preferably a bottoming tap.