RCBS gold medal comp dies

birddog67

i just go into reloading , i am loading 308 which i just bought the comp die set full resizing dies i also order the gold medal dies for my 300 ultra mag , it has where you can set the neck tension , so it tells me to measue a loaded bullet and the add 2 to 3 thousands and order that size then subtrac 2 or 3 thousands and order that neck sizing die , does this sound correct . and will this help with acurracy ?should i just use a factory round ?for my measurement

"...it tells me to measue a loaded bullet and the add 2 to 3 thousands and order that size then subtrac 2 or 3 thousands and order that neck sizing die , does this sound correct "

I don't quite know what to say ... you bought those very costly RCBS dies and now question if RCBS knows how to tell you the proper way to use them?

not really qustioning it , i was just wondering has any one used these dies . and should i order one or two thousand each way , like i siad i am new to reloading , and bought these dies thinking that i being able to adjust neck tension would help produce more accurate loads ?

"...bought these dies thinking that i being able to adjust neck tension would help produce more accurate loads ?"

The answer is maybe ... a little bit ... but not much. Much of what you read on the web about neck tension sounds great but is wrong in that the possible accuracy differences aren't great. Such things as neck tension are misleading tweaks; the potential differences are minute, they are quirky at best and, if done improperly, your accuracy can easily be reduced; few 'bushing' dies get sold for those reasons.