Rangefinder question

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by 4xforfun, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. 4xforfun

    4xforfun Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,255
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    I posed this question over at accurat shooter and got no responce. I have a Terrapin and love it, but it is just to big to carry around.

    I was looking at the Leica 1600 and see that they touting all of the extra electronic dodads and hooha's that it has...balistic computer this and it adjust for temp and incline...ect...ect....

    Anyway, can this sruff all be turned off and just have it give me a simple range to target?
     
  2. badaboom

    badaboom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    330
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007

  3. BrentM

    BrentM Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,550
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Yes. I use the one button to get incline, ABP, and ignore temp. I use the other button to get LOS distance in yards. Done. With a fresh battery I have ranged 1980 yards on rocks fairly frequently.

    Love this little Leica.
     
  4. 4xforfun

    4xforfun Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,255
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Thanks!! I have about $700.00 in Cabellas points just waiting to get used!!! :D:D

    Tod
     
  5. kcebcj

    kcebcj Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,215
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008

    Yes you can set it up for just line of site measurement in yards or meters.

    I have mine set up with the primary button giving me line of sight distance then the Adjusted Horizontal Distance comes up just below both in yards when the look angle is not level.

    The secondary button when pushed will give you the temp, station pressure and look angle if you need it. I do not use any of the ballistic stuff.
     
  6. Scrubbit

    Scrubbit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Same as above. I use range and declination only and plug into my own ballistics calc.