Range time with new Edge.

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by 4xforfun, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. 4xforfun

    4xforfun Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Well, I got my New Edge up and running.....Old Rem 700, Adjustable Mc Millan A5, Surgon Bottom metal, Brux 30" Rem varment contour with Interupted fluting with a DE break. Using Rem brass.....I have 100 pieces of that new Bertrom brass, but am saving it till I use up the 50 pieces of Rem brass. My reamer allows me to load to an OAL of 4.08 with the 300 Bergers....I use the Surgen Mag/bottom metel with the 300 WBY tube...single feed the Edge.

    Did my breakin in house.. Shoot and clean for three shots while working up the powder charge. Shots 4 and 5 were shot together over the chrony. 93 gr H1000 was only producing 2750 fps. Wasn't sure about the readings, but was a little dissapointed.., but the tube broke in great!!! Cleaning after shots 4/5 took a couple of wet patches and VERY LITTLE BRUSHING. Maybe could have skipped it al together.....like my competition Kriegers.

    Went out two nights ago well after dark ( I use a spot light set about 30 yards in front of the target) and worked up in three shot groups from 89 to 94 grains. 93 started to show a little psi and 94 was too hot. 91 shot best...about 1.1" group at 300. I figured 91 to be the max SAFE load.

    Today I loaded up a few more shells at 91 grains. I ran 3 more through the chrono down stairs and got 2735, 2745, and 2741. Just seemed like I should get more than that with the 30" tube, but...WTH.

    Went back to the range just before sundown and got my 300 yard zero dead nutz on. Three shot group was .76 inches....1/4 MOA ....ME VERY HAPPY!! :D Swung over to my steel at 740 yards.....Shooter App said up 12.9 MOA. Dialed in 13 and held a little for wind.......HIGH buy 2 moa. Dialed back down to 11 MOA.....dead nutz on...for the 4 remaining shots.

    So, obviously my chrono is FUBAR. Tweeked MV on the shooter program...If I imput 2940 FPS, it shows up 11 MOA ....exactly what I had dialed in to make the hits.

    So, now I gotta figure 2940 FPS. and AT LEAST 1/2 MOA ACCURACY. VERY, VERY HAPPY :D :D. I am going to have to do a little soul searching to come up with a good enough reason to go on testing with Retumbo and RL 25/33. I JUST DON'T SEE THE NEED!! lightbulb
     
  2. scsims

    scsims Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    336
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Glad to see you've got it shooting very well. I hope mine shoots that good, I don't get mine until May, it's getting a 30" Brux as well.
     

  3. CA48

    CA48 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    573
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Sounds like you've got a shooter.
    The 30" Brux my EDGE wears has made me proud.
    If only it had an A-5.

    How about some pics
     
  4. bigbuck

    bigbuck Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,650
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    I have a CDM-2 chrony and I shot a 10 shot string and it gave me my average MV . So I went out to 600 and dialed it in and I was high as well . I tried 800 and high again all the way to 1000. So when I adjusted my Exbal program showed me that my rifle was running faster than my chrony . Sounds like you had the same problem . Great shooting , I am looking forward to the day I can build the Edge off of my .300 RUM.....
     
  5. Bob L.

    Bob L. Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    I have had mine shoot higher than the chrony out to 900 yards adjusting the velocity in exbal after using the trajectory validation tool. What kind of jump/no jump you using with the bergers?
    Thanks,
    Bob
     
  6. 4xforfun

    4xforfun Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    I am running them twenty thou INTO the lands. Looking at the "landmarks" on my loaded rounds shows a square mark for each land. Of course it depends on the ojive of the bullets and the size of your lands, but the 20 thou marks are usualy square, the ten in are usualy short, and the hard jam is usualy longer than they are wide. I know.....Not very scientific.

    If I can figure out a way to find a magazine that fits and feeds the RUM case I will try and shorten the OAL to fit and re test. It would be a bonus if I could make this a repeater with BOTH tubes!!!

    Any sugjestions???
     
  7. mike33

    mike33 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    898
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    I ran in to that too, throw the chronographs away and figure out your own vel. I tell guys there readings are for bar room bragging rights, they dont work for anything else.
    Mike