Question about the 338 lapua

odoylerules

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the long range game so bare with me please.
I'm currently shooting a remmy 700 chambered in 300WM. It shoots 215 berger hybrids at about 2785fps out of a factory 24" tube. I found a great load that consistently gives me sub half MOA. It absolutely pounds out to about the 1400-1500 yards. After that things get inconsistent through my trans sonic zone. I was planning a custom build that would keep me super sonic out to a mile, and extend my current max range on game. Which is about 950 ish yards, when my bullet drops below 1800fps and full expansion can't be reliable. I was looking at a 7-300.
With the Berger 195's. I've had several people tell me I should just go all in and get a 338 lapua, like it's the ultimate long range rig. Running numbers through a basic ballistic calculator I came up with a few questions...shooting Berger 300's most guys are getting somewhere in the neighborhood of 2700-2800fps. That bullet slows to the 1800fps below 1100 yards, and goes trans sonic at about the same yardage as my current 300wm. The only advantage I see is the terminal ballistics-more impact energy. What am I missing? Why are guys saying this is what I need like it's the ultra long range answer to everything. Thanks for the help

odoylerules,

Here are a couple of thoughts just for consideration and conversation. This same discussion is taking place on multiple forums with regard to longer range shooting and hunting with the newer, heavy for caliber, high BC hunting bullets and what I consider to be 'main stream' cartridges.