Primer Cratering Question

piutemike

I shot my new Sendero SFll 300RUM for the first time today, breaking in the barrel and trying out some Nosler 180gr E Tips. Have to go unleaded this year in my area in Ca.

My starting load was 93 gr of retumbo Fed 215M primers and RP brass. Primers had small craters on everything from 93 to 95 grains. Nosler book lists Retumbo loads with 180 gr bullets from 95 to 99 grains so I didn't even come close to book max, keeping in mind Nosler told me to stay a couple grains under max. No other pressure signs, extractor marks, sticky bolt.

I'm pretty new to hand loading and have not encountered this with my other two guns I've loaded for. I used a chronograph, velocity was around 3180 to 3265 fps with the different powder charges.

My question is this, can something besides pressure cause primer cratering and how serious should this be taken? Thanks for your help.

Well, it's pressure that causes cratering but there is a more common reason than excessive pressure. If the firing pin is undersized for it's hole that leaves an unsupported ring around the pin, as can a weak firing pin. If the primer cup is soft and/or thin, either can cause cratering even at fairly low pressures. If the rifle is new I'd suggest you contact the maker and explain your story, let them take a look at it if they will. Such cratering is not, of itself, sereious but it may lead to piercing and that WILL damage the bolt face.

It may be simplier to just change primers and see if you can find something with a harder or thicker cup that won't crater so easily. I once had to do that with a Weatherby Vanguard .243 but it stopped the craters.

Last edited: