Pda & Program Question

4xforfun

I see by reading some of your posts that some of you use PDA's in the field. This seems like a GREAT idea. I currently have 2 charts taped to my scope (8.5-25-50 LRT). The first is my "DIAL-A-KILL".... settings for my scope from 400-1500 yds in 25 yd increments....with 0 being at 300 yds. IE 750 yds, turn elevation to 11 3/4. 1175 yds is +13 3/4 or one full turn + 13 3/4 min...ect... The other chart is windage form 400-1500 yds in 100 yard increments with 5-10-15-20-25-& 30 mph cross wind speeds listed in feet & inches. Not very precise, but I have been using this system for 12 years now.

I use the Sierra Infinity 5 program on my home computer & use our "avarage" environmental conditions and elavation during hunting season. I also have a cheaper wind meater that I got from Sinclare Int. a couple of years ago, but it only reads wind speed & temp.

My Questions are as follows. (1) Do PDA's work at 0 degrees or below?....most of my other electronics don't....and it can get cold here in ND, and I turn off the heat in my shack during shooting hours. My windmeter won't work for sure, but like I said----it's a cheepie. Even my Swaro rangefinder was slow. Also, it was hard to even push the ranging button. I sent it off to get fixed and after a night in the freazer it works fine. (2) Which PDA do I buy? Do I need a gazilloin megs of mem and does it need to be very fast to run a balistics program. (3) I am famillar with the Sierra program, but I can't figure out if I can get it for a PDA. Is there a better program out there? I see Nightforce has one on there web site.

Any info you can share would help me out a lot.

THANKS, TOD

I haven't used it in the field yet, but I picked up a Palm M130 off ebay for $30, put a new battery in it and it runs Exbal just fine. I figured if I lost a cheap palm, no big loss.

HTH

AJ

Warning! This thread is more than 17 years ago old.