Pasture Poodle 220 Swift loads

Russ Vernon

Hi guys.

I am getting ready to work up some new loads for my freshly rebarreled 220 Swift. George Vais in Boise is installing a 28" Kreiger 1-14" twist barrel on my M700 this week along with one of his famous muzzle breaks, and I want to try out some of your favorite loads. I am going to limit myself to 40 to 55 grain bullets for the most part. Now I am no novice to the Swift, as i bought my first one over 30 years ago, but bullets and powders have changed since then, so maybe a few of you can send some of your best shooting loads my way?

Much Thanks!

[ QUOTE ]
Hi guys.

I am getting ready to work up some new loads for my freshly rebarreled 220 Swift. George Vais in Boise is installing a 28" Kreiger 1-14" twist barrel on my M700 this week along with one of his famous muzzle breaks, and I want to try out some of your favorite loads. I am going to limit myself to 40 to 55 grain bullets for the most part. Now I am no novice to the Swift, as i bought my first one over 30 years ago, but bullets and powders have changed since then, so maybe a few of you can send some of your best shooting loads my way?

Much Thanks!

[/ QUOTE ]

Well I have a few if you have some time to read them.

I don't shoot over book maximums in my Swift but have been blessed with a rifle that shoots faster than most of my manual's posted speeds. I know I could step it up a bit but my brass life is excellent and accuracy is quite good for all the loads listed for this one rifle.

Well here goes

40 gn ballistic tip 46 grains H-414 Win case Win primer
4300 fps ave always under .5" for 5 shots

50 grn B Tip 44 grains H-414 Win Case Win primer around 4050 fps ave ( need to find notes ) .3's if I am shooting well

55 grn B Tip 44 grains H-4831 Win case Win primer
3600 fps ave groups in the .4's .

You could sub in the same weight V Maxes they shoot pretty good for me but the rifle prefers B Tips more than any thing else.