OAL too long for magazine?

sanjuanfly

Well I finally received some brass for my 338 RUM. So now I can start reloading. This is my first time reloading. If I'm doing anything wrong please let me know.

So I took my Hornady OAL gauge with modified case and a Nosler 250 AB. So when I measure the OAL (end to end) I get an average of 3.872" and 3.215" to the ogive. When I use the method of putting a bullet in the neck and close the bolt I get a OAL of 3.878". So if I want the bullet 0.010" off the lands I the bullet will still be 3.862" OAL. My problem is that my magazine (standard Rem 700 BDL) has a max length of 3.610. To get a round to fit in the magazine the bullet will be 0.252" off the lands...that seems to be very high.

Is it possible that I'm measuring OAL wrong? Is there something wrong with my barrel (Rem XCR standard barrel)?

Will I have to use this rifle as a single shot?

Thanks,
Scott

No matter how you measure it won't change the differences. Your cartridges must fit the magazine or be fired as a single shot; most of us would prefer to use the magazine.

You have a factory sporting rifle and cartridge, not a BR rig. Why do you feel that being some .25" off the lands is bad?

Scott,

Can't be specific about the measurements without seeing the rifle and ammo themselves, but yes, the notion of having chamber length ammo not being able to fit a magazine is nothing new. Some combinations work pretty closely, while others will be off quite a bit. Sounds like yours is one of the latter.