Nosler Custom Brass

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Spino, Jun 5, 2006.

1. Spino

Spino Well-Known Member

I'm new to reloading (8months) and thought that I would try some of the new Nosler Custom Brass. I'm shooting a 7mm 75 Sako Hunter. The reload components are scirocco 150 gr, Winchester Brass, CCI 250 primer & 65.5gr of RL-19. I have shot 3/4" groups with this. Moved everything to the Nosler Custom Brass = $43 box of 50 & my groups opened to 4"? Not sure what happened here? I checked the gun over for loose screws, but everything is secure. Any feedback on the Nosler Custom brass would be appreciated.

Thanks
    Spino!

2. sewwhat89

sewwhat89 Well-Known Member

It is thicker/heavier brass. I had to drop my loads back a grain or two so I could keep the same pressure, velocity and group size. The same thing held in my 300 WM and .243. Drop the charges a bit, and I bet your groups come right back and then some.

3. Spino

Spino Well-Known Member

Thanks for the tip & saving me time on this one! Ahh a glimpse of hope from an expierenced friend!

4. davewilson

davewilson Well-Known Member

i would check the neck diameter of a loaded round and make sure it's smaller than a spent shell fired from the same gun.it's unlikely but a very bad scenario if your loaded round is pinching in the neck area.

second, i would load some in the old brass and see if it's still as accurate.as previously stated, you probably changed your velocity a little. try to get the same muzzle velocity and see if the accuracy returns.

5. Spino

Spino Well-Known Member