Norma 257 Weatherby brass

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by koonazz, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. koonazz

    koonazz Member

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Does anyone know if the bulk 257 weatherby brass from Norma is the same as the brass they use for Weatherby factory ammo?
     
  2. Trickymissfit

    Trickymissfit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,072
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    all Weatherby (with the Weatherby headstamp on it) is made by Norma, and from what I've heard they also load it as well
    gary
     

  3. koonazz

    koonazz Member

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Yes sir accdg to Weatherby's website their brass and ammo is made and loaded by Norma. My question is if the brass they sell as component brass has the same case wall thickness as the brass they use for the factory stuff?
     
  4. Long Time Long Ranger

    Long Time Long Ranger Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,612
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    I have never measured it but I use both with the same load data. I will try and measure some today and let you know. If you want to save some money 264 win mag, 7mm rem mag and several others can be made into 257 wby by running it through your die. The necks will be .049" short but as bad as the 257 wby stretches necks they will be close after a couple firings. I have done that often with no trouble. Also Remington did make 270 wby brass and that is identical except for the caliber. Again, just run it through your die. If you are buying brass I would get the right stuff to begin with. But if you have some of the others lying around they will work.
     
  5. koonazz

    koonazz Member

    Messages:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    If it's not too much trouble, that case wall thickness info would be great. I'm gathering all this info for a brand new rig and my intent was to break in the barrel with a few boxes of Wby factory ammo while my dies and components are being shipped. Then up my brass count with Norma component brass and start load development. If there is a serious difference between the capacities of the two I'd sure like to know ahead o time. Thanks again for all of your help.