Nikon 800 and 1200 lasers

Ian M

Anybody using one of these units. Interested to hear about performance compared to Bushnells, Swaro, Leica etc.

Ian,
I have the nikon monarch 800 yarder. It is very compact and durable. The glass is not really that great compared to the others listed above. I'm not bashing it, I just am not to crazy about the glass. You also must have really steady hands to range out long distance targets.
Hope this is good info,
Brandon

I've had an 800 for a month or so, but I have limited experience with LRF's.

Ditto Ducks response.

I can range large dogs (no I'm not shooting at them!!) out to around 500m (550yds I think or thereabouts). Larger animals to 550m. Both are freehand. Black labs are harder than lighter coloured breeds and go about 350m max. That's all on clear sunny days.

I'm struggling to find animals around here standing still enough for the purposes of ranging, so a tripod didn't add distance. The scan function works fine on running dogs etc. if you can stay with them.

What has surprised me is that I can seldom really range anything much beyond 650yds - buildings etc., irrespective of colour, angle of surface - all from a tripod.

Generally I can't range bushes beyond 300m, but a nice clean treetrunk will range further.

On one occassion I did get a few 700+ ranges on large light coloured buildings and roadsigns.

The guys I bought it from claims it has ranged Springbok (small South African buck) to 500m and from what I've seen I believe that.

It has ranged further in the dark on the same objects that it won't range in the day (it has a backlight for the display).

I was considering taking it back to get the 1200, but I like the size as I hunt handgun too and it can just pop in your top pocket.

It seems quick relative to some of the others I've tried. The 6X is maybe a little limiting.

I've had a few bs readings, but not many. It would switch from 500m or so to 800m+ on the same object.