NightForce ocular lens

Discussion in 'Long Range Scopes and Other Optics' started by woodnut, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. woodnut

    woodnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    I just bought a previously owned Night Force scope and for the first time I can remember; this is one scope I can't adjust the ocular lens( for the reticule) ! Am I crazy or is there not an adjustment ? I emailed Night Force but haven't heard from them. The diagram shows what looks like there could be a ring for that; but it's not very definitive and open to misinterpretation. I would think there would be. Maybe this one is frozen ? Help ! Is there an adjustment ring to bring the reticule into sharp focus ?
    Charles
     
  2. J E Custom

    J E Custom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,311
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    There should be a lock ring in front of the ocular lens housing and behind the power adjusting
    ring.

    This lock has to be loosened to adjust the ocular lens.

    J E CUSTOM
     

  3. texan79

    texan79 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    353
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Depending on the power of your model, it may not like to focus at close range. My 5.5-22 seems to need some distance before the reticle comes in crystal clear. (about 50 tds) even at the extreme edges of the adjustment range. hope this helps. JE is right on about the adjustment; loosen the ring and crank that dude.
     
  4. woodnut

    woodnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Thanks, J.E; but I'm not so sure I even have that lock ring. The scope is the 8x32x56. It does appear to have two sets of rings; but they turn together. I don't see that lock ring. Maybe a screw? It's in my case right now as I'm heading to the range today. I'll look again closer today; but I doubt I'll find anything else. If you are sure (and I agree) there's a focus ring there, I could use help finding it ! Thanks again, Charles
     
  5. BillR

    BillR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Just grab the ring ahead of the ocular lens housing and the ocular lens itself and give the ocular lens a twist to the right while holding the ring tight. Once in a while they become tight and do look like their one piece but their not.
    Mine also will not focus anything closer than 25 yds unless I turn the power way down.
     
  6. woodnut

    woodnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Thank you Bill ! I actually haven't done it exactly that way. Will give er a go this PM. I do appreciate all the help from all of you ! Cheers, Charles
     
  7. woodnut

    woodnut Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    YaaHoo! It does have an adjusting bell. Feel kinda stupid though. First time I've come across a scope so well built and the previous owner really locked down the ocular bell so that I could not see any separation and wasn't able to move it. I was actually thinking the lock ring was part of the ocular bell. With your help, I finally got it. I didn't think turning it to the right was correct; and it could have been. But, everything was turned all the way right (and in) so left turn worked it. I guess I never tried just the smooth bell, only the lock ring. Duh ! Anyway, thanks for your help and I can't wait to shoot it with the "seeable" reticule ! I've mounted it on a very accurate AR in .223 A.I. and I've even shot fine groups with the reticule out of focus ! Cheers, Charles
     
  8. BillR

    BillR Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    :) Glad to see you finally figured it out.