nightforce ch1 vs np1

airstream

I am about to order a nightforce with the intentions of ranging a target, dialing it up and punching a hole through the desired object. I want simple , as I am just starting out with this whole long range stuff, I am looking at the ch1 and the np1 reticles. my only concern is that i could run out of elevation adjustment at 1000 yards if I dont have a mill-dot or lower lines under the main cross hair. Is this a concern or not? I will be shooting a 260 rem.

If you want simple, don't start down that road of longrange shooting. :)

Gravity is constant - so your dial ups won't vary much (assuming elevation, barometric pressure, etc. remain fairly constant. Wind will become the bigger enemy when moving out beyond 500-600 yds. This is where a good reticle really shines. I selected the np-r1 reticle because it has 2.0 MOA hashmarks on the horizontal crosshair. So I dial for elevation and the hold right/left for wind.

The Nightforce NXS 5.5-22x50mm has 100 MOA of internal adjustment for elevation. This should be more than enough to get a 260 Rem out to 1000 yds.

Thank you both for the insight. while I am just getting started in longrange , I have been reloading for some time now. I fully intend to work my way up to long-long range, and hope to use the same scope when I get there. My goal this first year is to take deer out to 500 yards. It sounds like I should get the np r1. I will make a decision after looking through a couple. One more thing , you answered my question about not running out of elevation, what are your feelings about an angled base , are there any other advantages to an ramped up mount. Nightforce rep was talking about the fact that it allows you to use the middle of the glass where the glass is better. sorry i dont know the rite term for the base with an incline.:rolleyes:

You are probably referring to a MOA base or rail. This can get involved so let's back up just a little.