Newbie to the bear world

gibbsif

Hey y'all. I have been doing some research for a spring 2018 bear hunt. I'm thinking a DIY hunt in Idaho but I'm open to suggestions! I have a lot to learn from growing up in the Midwest! Thanks in advance for the help!

spring in the mountains, find the green.... look for open meadows and avalanche chutes where the fresh grass is growing. they'll be hitting food hard when they come out. Also, be sure to look over any bear you see carefully. they rub their fur off because of the heat in the spring and I know I'd hate to take a nice bear with big rub spots. Find the best binoculars you can afford, then take another step up. good glass is key and will actually help find more game and keep you out of a splitting headache at the end of the day.

Idaho has plenty of season. Starts again August 1 some places. Late August bear hides aren't as good as they get, but better than late spring.

I would recommend "the ultimate guide to black bear hunting" book by Douglas Boze. Great overview. Learn how to read sign and seasonal food sources. I'm in north Idaho panhandle and our bear season opens next week. In you can find berry patches that are not all dried up from the hot dry summer you will find bears. I found some at 4200ft yesterday. Be safe and learn to tell a black from a grizzly if you come up here.

I live in Idaho. Since you're going DIY I'm assuming your time will be too limited to run bait. I think of spot and stalk black bear as a challenging proposition around here. Challenging but not impossible. I would start looking at high elevation, 7000 ft and higher in my area but probably as low as 4000 in central and northern Idaho. There will be a lot of climbing and thinner air than you may be used to.