Newbie need scope advice

BigSlick

I have been hunting for many years in the forests of Minnesota but this is my first real "long range" rifle. (Sig Sauer SSG 3000 in .308)
I need a good scope that is accurate out to 1000 yards or better but I don't want to break the bank buying one. Looking to spend about $750 for a decent one. Got any suggestions?

gun)
:D

Vortex Viper HS 4-16x50 LR. Use the money you save to buy a good set of rings and base. You might also want to check out the Viper PST.

Lots of possibilities, depending on your application. Target shooting? Big game? Weight limit? What type of reticle do you prefer? Illumination? Any other features you really want?

Take a good look at Burris and Nikon. for the price you will not go wrong they can take a hell of a beating and stay on there sight(zero).
All I use are Burris and love them, they both have scopes that for the dollars spent you will not go wrong. The only problen with long range scopes you will need to get use to them.
It will be black but after you get through this problem you will find it worth the head ach of the high magnification. If a Deer steps out at 50 yards its all furr. go 6X24X42 or 4.5X14X42.
but 1000 YARDS is a long way, I just hope you are good enough Buying a Scope is like getting
married you are stuck with the Scope and nobody wants her.