newbie help

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by sstaylor, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. sstaylor

    sstaylor Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Ok I am new to long range but I have already had a rifle built. It is Stiller predator long action with Shilen 24" # 5 contour pluss muzzle brake. In 300 WM and timney trigger. Jerry Stiller chambered and fitted barrel and all looks good. I ordered a mcmillian drop in stock for rifle and it looks good. I put action and barrel in stock and when i tightened the action screws the bolt binds up. I have another post asking How tight do you make the screws but I have done a little searching and found they are supposed to be 65 in lbs. I do not feel I have the screws that tight yet as i was using an L shaped allen wrench. But when I snug them down the bolt binds.
     
  2. J E Custom

    J E Custom Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,310
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004

    There is no such thing as a true drop in stock !!!!

    There are stocks that are inletted for a partiicular action but they don't fit perfict so
    you should bed the action.

    If the bolt binds when you tighten the bedding/action screws then it is flexing the action
    and this can't be good.

    35 to 65 inch pounds is the correct torque .

    If the barrel is not free floated it can cause the same problem.

    To check this just lay a dollar bill in the barrel channel and then snugg the action screws,
    if the bill wontmove freely up and down the barrel then it needs floating.

    J E CUSTOM
     

  3. sstaylor

    sstaylor Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    The barrel is free floating. I am going to get a torque wrench to do this right.
    So about how tight by feel is say 50 in lbs out of curiosity. I don't wanna have to send my rifle off. I just now got my stock after 6 months of waiting but this has got me worried now.
     
  4. winmagman

    winmagman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Check the length of the front action screw.

    Take the front action screw out or at least loosen it up a good bit, then pull the bolt back re install and fully tighten the front screw and see if you can close the bolt. If not the front screw needs to be shortened a little, easily done with a Dremel.

    Like JE said sometimes "drop in " isn't quite accurate.

    Chris
     
  5. Kevin Cram

    Kevin Cram <b>SPONSOR</b>

    Messages:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    My first guess is probably the front guard screw is too long and is making contact with the bolt lug when the bolt closes. Look at the bolt lug and see if it appears to have been marked up, or look inside the action with a light and see if the screw is sticking up too far.
    The other possibility but not as likely is there might be a high center and your flexing the action and putting the bolt in bind. My guess is the first though.
     
  6. sstaylor

    sstaylor Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Well I took the bolt out tightened it down and looked in the action with flash light and could see some of the screw sticking through. I'm going to grind it down some and see how that works.

    Thank You so Very much,
    Sean
     
  7. grinnergetter

    grinnergetter Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    165
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Same problem here, Stiller's screws were too long...used stock screws and went together just fine.
     
  8. sstaylor

    sstaylor Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    I grinded my front screw down now everything works seems to work good. I am looking to get my scope now. I want a nightforce nsx 3.5x15x50 and i am considering getting the nightforce direct mount system. Has anyone had any experience with this.
     
  9. winmagman

    winmagman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Glad you got it straightened out.

    Not sure about your particular action/base combo, but you should be aware that when you mount your bases sometimes the mounting screws can be a little long and lock up the bolt as well. Hate to see you back in that boat......and yes I've been there and done that too:rolleyes::D

    Chris
     
  10. sstaylor

    sstaylor Member

    Messages:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Thanks winmagman I will definately check that when I install my bases. I can use all the help I can get especially since this is my first custom. I have been reading here and a few other sites for a while and just now decided to start posting since everything is coming together now. So has anyone had any experiance with the nightforce direct mounts. Also what size rings do I need for a 50mm scope.