New to sheep hunting...

arffdog875

I have been putting in for CO Big Horn sheep for a few years, mostly for points. I am needing some advice from the sheep hunters in the forum. Is there good books out there on sheep hunting? Gear lists...what are the big ticket items I need so I can start acquiring these items now instead of at the last minute. Thanks for any help you can give! Ross

I have been putting in for CO Big Horn sheep for a few years, mostly for points. I am needing some advice from the sheep hunters in the forum. Is there good books out there on sheep hunting? Gear lists...what are the big ticket items I need so I can start acquiring these items now instead of at the last minute. Thanks for any help you can give! Ross

Hmm...as far as books go, I'll give you a list below;) Now for gear lists, any reputable oufitter's website will have a list. As far as big ticket items, yours are probably going to be in optics, scope, bino's/range finder and spotting scope. Buy the best you can afford.

Here is your list:)
Andrews, R Chapman Across Mongolian Plains
Andrews, R Camps And Trails in China
Andrews, R The New conquest of Central Asia
Annabel, R Hunting and Fishing in Alaska
Annabel, R Tales of a Big Game Guide
Armstrong, N After Big Game in the Upper Yukon
Auer, H Campfires in the Yukon
Baillie-Grohmann W Fifteen Years Sport & Life in the Hunting Grounds Of W. America
Beach, W In the Shadow of Mount McKinley
Burrard, M Big Game Hunting in the Himalayas and Tibet
Cane, C Summer and Fall in Western Alaska
Clark, J Trails of the Hunted
Cobbold, R Innermost Asia: Travel and Sport in the Pamirs
Darrah, H Sport in the Highlands of Kashmir
Demidoff, E After Wild Sheep in the Altai and Mongolia
Demidoff, E A Shooting Trip to Kamchatka
Demidoff, E Hunting Trips in the Caucasus
Etherton, P Across the Roof of the World
Gates, E Trophy Hunter in Asia
Haughton, H Sport and Folklore in the Himalayan
Haydon, H Sport and Travel in the Highlands of Tibet