New to long range

Discussion in 'The Basics, Starting Out' started by Gerald1755, Aug 4, 2012.

1. Gerald1755

Gerald1755 Member

I recently purchased a Remington 700 sps .300 win mag. I would like to know if this is a decent platform to start with for long range accurate shooting. I would also like to know where you would recommend starting upgrades. Currently it is a stock rifle with a Leupold vxiii 4.5-14x50 with CDS and Talley one piece rings. I am looking at shooting Barnes 180gr TTSX. Any recommendations greatly appreciated.

2. Gerald1755

Gerald1755 Member

Surely someone has an opinion.....

3. jpbaker

jpbaker Well-Known Member

How does it shoot now?

I would probably start with the stock. Either bedding it or replaceing it if you got the money to.

If the barrel shoots good sub 1/2MOA then you may be fine with that (how far you shooting?)

Are you hunting or shooting paper?

JPB

4. Nimrod

Nimrod Well-Known Member

Gerald,
    I'm pretty new at the long range game myself but it sounds to me like you are off to a good start, if your rifle is shooting well as is then I would just use the extra money for more loading components. My first upgrade to a rifle usually involves the trigger, either to adjust or replace it. Next is normally the stock, then the barrel. I don't make any modification unless there is a problem with the rifle to begin with.

Bob

5. Gerald1755

Gerald1755 Member

Thanks JPB and Bob
    I mainly plan on hunting but would like to play a little at the range as well. The rifle shoots over 1 MOA as it is. I don't mind spending a little money on it to be confident in its ability. I will just have to work on my ability. I would like to replace the trigger and stock. I would really like to find a good gunsmith here in Texas to do an accuracy package on it. Looks like Timney triggers and McMillan stocks are very popular.

6. Nimrod

Nimrod Well-Known Member