new to long range shooting

mhiltz

Hello everyone,

I'm new to long range shooting, I joined this forum in hopes of finding knowledge on the subject. Also, I just bought a 7mmRUM for 1000yds shooting and am hearing alot of negative responses on it. I hear the people on this forum are in general very positive about such calibers, and will answer my questions rather than just give me negative responses.:)

thanks

mhiltz

Last edited:
I dont know much at all about the 7mm RUM. I know that the 7mm rem mag has some great potential for long range shooting and can be set up for 1000 yard target rifle any day. I know the 7mm bullets are perfect for long range hunting and shooting so with the extra powder, power and speed, the 7mm RUM should be great.

What bullets do you plan on using?

You will find that any caliber that pushes a long bullet fast will be criticized as a barrel burner. 90% of the occasional shooters or average hunters who hear barrel burner attached to a caliber spread it like wild fire. And being an RUM it will come with some amount of recoil, more bad rap. Basically in many cases it is simply "Penis envy"( hope I didn't break any rules by using that term). You got a Vette and they are driving an oldsmobile. Of course there is nothing wrong with the olds, it just isn't a vette. If you shoot it a lot, will it burn out the barrel? Very likely, however, it is a great cartridge for your purpose. That is the first thing you see on most forums when you read about any RUM, STW, or any 6.5 capable of pushing a 140 grain bullet beyond 3,000 fps. Plain fact is that if they drove that olds as much as we shoot our long range rifles, it wouldn't last 30 + years either.

The 7 rum is a great cal. It will tend to burn a barrel relatively fast, so I would not recommend using it for a lot of plinking. It will flat out get it done as far as down range ballistics are concerned.