New T/C Encore Rem 7 Mag Spraying(Help)

Wildonvegas

Here's the deal. I had H&H transfer my Leupold Boone & Crocket scope to my 7 mag from a 243 and switch the barrel out on my Encore. New barrel. I had no issues with the 243, but the 7 has issues. Shot nine rounds thru it on a very hot day, but didn't rush it. The second shot was low and to the left about 4 inches of first shot which was high right. I figured cold bore difference so I adjusted and it hit where I adjusted it to, but I had figured my adjustment wrong so I shot and adjusted a couple more times eventually getting it 1 in high and 1/2 inch left on the 7th shot. So I figured that was good enough to get an idea of grouping before adjusting anymore. I then shot the 8th and 9th without adjusting and it again dropped about 4 inches low and left. These 8th & 9th shots were within 1/2 inch of each other though. I was shooting 100 yd target. I was cleaning between shots, but not thoroughly by any means. I'm not an expert, but have been shooting in some fashion for 40+ years and never had a gun shoot this erratic. Is this just a case of the barrel not being(run-in) yet or something else? Oh and I was shooting from a lead sled. I'm generally a pretty good shot and this dropping 4 inches on two different occasions has me confused

There are several possibilities:

1. The scope could be bad. Perhaps it was OK with 243 Winchester recoil but not with 7mm Remington Magnum recoil. If bad, at lease Leupold will fix it for free.

2. Check the rings and base for looseness. In a newly mounted scope, sometimes the base and/or rings will become loose after a bit of shooting.

3. It could be a bad barrel. Clean it and check the bore for roughness. Also check the crown. If it ends up being a bad barrel and it was made by Thompson/Center, they'll probably fix it for free.

4. Perhaps you need to tweak the load for that particular barrel. There can be marked accuracy differences with just a few grains of powder.