New set up advise.

tadge

Gday All,

I'm fairly new to this long range caper, bear with me.

For the last 15 or so years I have hunted small game with a 22-.250, I have since moved to the top end of australia, unfortunatly most of the game up here is a little big for the 22.

I have joined the local big bore rifle club and would like some info on a rifle set up for F class which I would like to also use on Pigs and maybe (hopefully) Buffalo.

I am presently looking at the Remington 700P in either 7mm Rem Mag or .300 win mag. I have some other options such as the tikka T3 super varminter or T3 tactical.

Here are my problems in deciding. 1 some say the .300 is too powerful for pigs and underpowered for Buff. 2 Others say the 7mm is good on both.

I would like to take pigs at relative long range 250 - 300yds and buff out at shorter (100 - 150 yds) and also utilise the same rifle in F class out to 1000yds ( I do not want to be competitive but utilise the F class more for training).

What are your thaughts on calibre selection, seeing I have no experience in Magnums (ie recoil, long range capability). Please note I dont have access to either a 7mm or .300 to test out.

I am sure topics like these have been done to death any info is appreciated.

Cheers

Tadge

Last edited:
Tadge, I would recommend the 300 WSM. It has been doing very well in long range bench rest and F-Class competition. It will be perfect for your needs.

I would recommend one of the Savage rifles. I think they make the 300 WSM in the 12 models. Take a look at their web site.

P44

If the 300 and 7mm your refering to are the 300 Winchester and the 7mmRemington then sombody has fed you some bad info. The 300 is a good bit more powerfull than the 7mm and has a better selection of bullets suited for big game.