New Reloader Questions Regarding Headspace and Pressure

Rymart

The following pictures are of once fired brass from factory Black Hills 165 gr BTSP Match ammo, fired in a Tikka M595 Master Sporter in 308.

normal_Brass%20Ring.JPG

normal_HR%20Brass%20Ring.JPG

normal_HR%20Primer%20Pocket.JPG

normal_Ring%20and%20Primer%202.JPG

If you look closely at the pictures you can see a slight bulge or ring just above the case head (I think). Also, I am new to reloading but, the primer looks flat to me. These are factory loads out of a factory match chamber. I have shot 240 rounds of this ammo and every piece of brass looks the same. The 'ring' marks were definately not there before the brass was fired. They were also not visible on the once fired Federal GMM brass. There were no problems with a sticky bolt handle. No apparent accuracy issues (printed between 0.25 and 1.0 inches at 100 yards with about 0.60 as the average). No problems chambering the fired brass in my rifle at all. I took a metal clothes hanger wire and sharpened it with a dremmel tool and bent the last 1/8 inch of the hanger 90 degrees and ran it down the inside wall of the case and didn't feel any obvious hang-ups. Before I thought much about this I had already case prepped 200 rounds of the ammo (flash hole deburred, cleaned,neck sized, trimmed, weighed and sorted, primer pockets cleaned) so unless it is necessary, I don't want to just throw the brass out, but will do so if necessary for safety.

Additionally, when I started to prime the brass with Fed 210M primers it seemed like I had to exert more pressure than usual to seat the primers (remember though that I am new to this). When the primers felt like they had bottomed out they appeared to be (felt) slightly high in the pocket. When I applied substantially more pressure, I was able to get them to fit flush.

If anyone feels like pitching in and helping me out, here are some of my many questions: