New Nightforce Ballistic Program......Trajectory Validation.....Help Please.

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by SBruce, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    New Nightforce Ballistic Program......Trajectory Validation, Problem Solved Thank You

    I've got this posted on another thread, but no bites.

    I've been playing around with the newest Nightforce ballistic program for about a year now. The paper says Version 9.5 for Windows PC.

    I've managed to figure out just about all the features, except for
    TRAJECTORY VALIDATION...............It simply doesn't work on my program!

    I've used the same feature on an older PPC version and it changed the velocity to match drops....as it should have. However, when I type the same exact data into the new PC version it always says "calculations did not converge".......anyone else having this issue?

    Anyone heard of a patch from NF or Exbal that will solve the problem?

    I click "trajectory validation" option
    I enter a distance (example: 700 yds)
    I enter an amount under sight adj used (same amount the program gives for comeup, example: 12.5 moa)
    I enter a number under amount of measured error (Example: 4 inches)
    I click calculate.

    Always get the same popup that says "calculations did not converge" no matter what number or distance I input.


    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  2. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    I tinkered with mine tonight for a few minutes to try to figure it out but I haven't spent much time on it to figure out the exact range it will do it in. From what I can see is the variables are to wide, and it can not get a good trajectory by just adjusting the velocity. I have gotten that message many times, and so far it has been because I have things out of wack or my data was bad and I had to re shoot it. I'm working with the latest PPC version, have you tried two ranges?
     

  3. kidcoltoutlaw

    kidcoltoutlaw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Exbal email the guy he will answer you questions. 4 inches you can get that much from velocity spread or elevation or the wrong Barometric Pressure ,

    Thanks,Keith
     
  4. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Yes, I've even tried 3 ranges.

    I even took the actual bullet path the program gave for 2880'/sec, wrote down the numbers at 300 500 and 700 with 150 sight in.

    I then took the bullet path projected at 2800'/sec, wrote that all down too.

    Then, I input the adjustments for 2800 (that prog gave) at those distances, and the differences between what the program gave for 2880'/sec and 2800'/sec. In other words, I input exact numbers right out of the program based on 2880 and 2800'/sec...............still said "calculations did not converge"..........it should have given me a new velocity of 2880.

    I've been able to make an older PPC version work just fine. It's really not complicated (but it wasn't my PPC and I no longer have it either). Seriously thinking that the PC version has a bug.??

    This issue with the PC version makes it way easier to just change the velocity until it matches the actual drops seen in the field.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  5. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    I'm running the latest PPC version if you post up the numbers I'll run it through and see if it kicks out or works. I would maybe e-mail tech support or re-load it.
     
  6. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 3932160) (tried to allocate 4864 bytes) in /home/lbackus/public_html/longrangehunting/forums/includes/functions_wysiwyg.php on line 93

    This is the response I get when trying to post the numbers.......Thanks anyway. I'll try later when I get more time. I haven't been able to find Exbal's e-mail, and Nightforce wasn't much help on the phone.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2010
  7. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
  8. kidcoltoutlaw

    kidcoltoutlaw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    They are one and the same and they made the program for Nightforce,

    Thanks,Keith
     
  9. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Unable to contact Perry Systems.

    When I click on "contact us" I get a popup saying "can not perform this operation because the default mail client is not properly installed" or some BS like that.

    Perhaps if someone has outlook for their Internet/e-mail you could copy and paste the phone number or e-mail for Perry Systems??
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  10. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    I get that all the time as I don't us Outlook. Just hit OK and the form will come up, copy the email address and open your email program and paste it to your recipient line, then you should be GTG.

    Or here, copy and paste this. gperry@perry-systems.com
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  11. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Thanks for the link, sending them an e-mail right now.

    Here it is:

    Hello,

    I've had this PC version of your software for approx. a year now. I really enjoy it and have been able to figure out and use most every part of it exept one.

    TRAJECTORY VALIDATION...............It simply doesn't work on my program!

    I've used the same feature on an older PPC version and it changed the velocity to match drops....quite easy to understand and use. However, when I type the same exact data into the new PC version it always says "calculations did not converge".......no matter how many times I try or what numbers I input, always the same popup??

    The pocket PC version has a spot to click moa or mill or IPHY, ect. On my PC version they are greyed out and unable to change anything. Also, when I input a distance and then hit TAB.....it automatically enters a bogus number into "sight adjustment used" ( like 54.5 moa) and takes my curser down to the next distance box. I can change the number in the adjustment box and then type in the "measured error", but these are not things that I remember happening with the PPC version.

    With these issues, it's easier to just play with the velocity until I get the program to match my actual field drops. I am pretty sure this isn't how you designed it to be however, and I am wondering if there is a patch or update that will solve the problem?

    I click "trajectory validation" option
    I enter a distance (example: 700 yds)
    I enter an amount under sight adj used (same amount the program gives for comeup, example: 12.5 moa)
    I enter a number under amount of measured error (Example: 4 inches)
    I click calculate. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Assuming I am doing it correctly.

    Thank You in advance for any help on this issue.

    Hopefully I'll get a response back soon.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  12. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Mr Perry E-mailed and called me back right away. He was very helpful.

    He even talked me through a download and install of the newest Version 10 software.

    Problem seems to be solved.....Trajectory Validation works now, just as it did on the Pocket PC version I used a while back.

    Thanks Gerald.
     
  13. bigngreen

    bigngreen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    5,835
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Right on!!!
     
  14. SBruce

    SBruce Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,786
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Thank YOU bigngreen for the contact information. Glad it's working now!

    On another note, it appears that the newest version will accept the G7 BC's as long as the bullet manufacturer specifies a G7 BC. It's also got a spot for density altitude for those folks that use DA or have the kestrel that provides it.:)