New Long Range Shooter from Twin Falls, ID.

Gone Ballistic

Hello Fellow Long Range Shooters!

I am very new to this sport and am really enjoying it so far. I'm extremely glad to find a site that caters to people with this passion. I'll give you a little insight about me.
I have been a hunter since I aquired a Red Ryder BB gun when I was 6 yrs old. The longest wait I had in my lifetime was for my 12th birthday, so I could get my first hunting license. That was in July of 1958. I also got a .410 bolt action shotgun that I couldn't hit anything with. My uncle traded me a Mod.12, 12 gauge for it two years later, out of love and sympathy, and I became a marksman. Later I bought a .22 bolt action, with money I made, and have been hunting one thing or another every since. I had a thirty two year period that I hunted just about everything with a bow until an injury stopped me. I have taken over 70 mule deer, 6 whitetails, 26 antelope, 22 elk, 8 javalina, and a terrific Shiras moose. The moose was my greatest experience, as it took me over 40 years to finally draw an Idaho one-in-a-lifetime tag. I spent 58 days hunting for him and turned down 17 different ones before finding him. I got him in the worst place a person could ever down one, for the hardest recovery I've ever done in all of my years of hunting.
I would love to hear from any of you that would be willing to lend me a hand in getting the new rifle I had made shooting like I want it to.
I'm glad to be aboard a very fine group.

Welcome to LongRangeHunting. Sounds like you've had some pretty good years chasing critters. You should have chased that moose a little closer to a road. :)

Thanks for the welcome!