new guy

deek1984

im new to the internet but ive seen alot of ppl helping others out on here and many other places good or bad. so im giving it a try.i have a herters j9 30-06 it had an old 7x9 red field scope on it. at the time i got the gun it was a nail driver at 100 yds. i have recently bought a bushnell 4-16x40 scope trying to get a better picture out to 200-300 yrds away. ive been trying to bore sight it at about 20 yrds then moving to paper at 50. i have the left to right down pat its right on but im still shooting about a foot above center, and if i did it right im bottomed out on my adjustments. ??? i dont know if im backwards or what im doing wrong or if i just need to change the mounts. i do know that the rear is taller then the front where the rings mount to but that i belive is because the rear of the action is lower than the front. it seems to me if id bring the front of the scope up id have more room for adjustment. ?? any help is welcome.

Yes, shimming the scope will get you the adjustment you made need. Just don't use too much under scope as it will bend the scope tube causing possible damage the internal parts. I have known a couple of guys that need alot of shims and put some under the action then fine tuned it shimming scope.
IMO, i would get a new set of rings and bases since you bought a new scope for it. Start from there, it may solve the problem right off the bat.

i bought new rings afrer i bought the new scope simply because the old ones would not fit on the scope. but yes i think i will try new bases first before i try anything else maybe different rings too. i dont really like the idea of shimming a scope. but if everything else fails can a guy put his shims under the base so as to not compermise the scope at all.?? just wondering.

Before you get too crazy, make sure the thick end or the thick base is at the rear of the rifle. I've seen people mount bases backwards. Idk if its possible on your action but make sure to check