New from Texas

Capt. D

Hello all<

My name is Dallas Furman. I am from Kingsville Texas. I am an industrial inspector by trade but only do that 6 months of the year. The other 6 I operate Horizon Outfitters, a small fishing guide service.

I stumbled onto this site while looking for a custom rifle. I have been interested in long range shooting for quite some time but have never persued it. I seem to be hung up on harvesting a deer at 800 yards for some reason.

From what I see here there is oodles and oodles of information here. From the research that I have done to this point I'm thinking 7mm, 168gr Berger VLD's, and a Night Force 5.5x22x50 NXS. Can any of you point me in the right direction for a custom rifle that is .25 MOA capable. Preferably in a hunting style rather than tactical.

Looking forward to your replies and futrure chats.

Dallas

Capt. D,

Welcome aboard.
There are several proven rifle smiths on this board. I have personal experience with only one, that is, a custom rifle and extreme cartridge.

I'll not list names as I would be uncomfortable even hinting towards a preference.

Most don't advertise here. The word just gets around. Pretty much "the proof is in the puddin'" kind of thing.

Keep lookin' you'll sort it out.

Capt. D:

I'm kinda like Roy. A little bashful and shy about recommending a good smith.:rolleyes:

But........if I was talking to a good friend and he wanted to know of the best **** long range gunsmith around......I'd recommend Kirby Allen of Allen Precision Shooting. I'd also tell him he goes by "Fiftydriver" on here, that is if he was interested.:rolleyes: I'd also tell my friend that Kirby built a full custom for me and one for my hunting buddy and my next one will be built by Kirby also, that is if my friend was interested.:rolleyes:

Then I'd tell him to see below and check it out.
YouTube - 7mm Allen Magnum, water jug and gun/bullet info