New and would appreciate some advise

azgutpile

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to custom guns and long range shooting so, I've got a few questions that I hope you guys can help me out with. I've been in the process of gathering parts for my first long range gun (500, to 1000 yards) and I would like to make sure that I'm not making any newbie mistakes. Below is a list of all the parts that I've collected so far and I was wondering if there is anything that you see right off the bat that I shouldn't use.

Here is what I have collected so far:

Stiller Predator long magnum action
McMillan A-3/5 stock including aluminum pillars
Timney Trigger
Remington Bottom metal (Aluminum)
Standard Magazine
Picatinny one piece scope base
27" Schneider P5 barrel 1:11 twist- 5.5 taper (ordered)
NF 5.5 x 22x 56 NP-2DD scope

My plan is to have this rifle chambered in 300 RUM; triggers adjusted to 2lbs, and then have the stock bedded.

Some of my questions are:

Am I going to loose anything by using an aluminum floor metal? Is there something a better option out there that works better? I prefer to not have any magazines that could fall out and loose.

I'm planning on reloading and I currently have my eye set on some of the Berger bullets, among others. Do I need to specify anything when I take the barrel in to have the chamber reamed? I would like to make sure that I can take advantage of all their benefits of the match/ long range bullets.

I still need scope rings, what would you recommend. I'm not too concerned about weight

Do I need to have the action bedded since the rifle stock is a McMillan specifically inletted for the Stiller action along with the Schneider #5.5 taper barrel?

With the weight of the overall rifle, I don't think I will need a muzzle break; however, is there a benefit of having it threaded now compared to after the rifle is assembled?

I would greatly appreciate any help that you could offer and look forward to the day that I can return the favor.

Thanks,