Need some help with my exbal program.

KQguy

I just started using my exbal program the other day,and I am having problems coming up with a velocity/b.c. combo that works for various ranges.I am shooting a 300wm with a 240gr smk.According to sierra,the b.c. is .711,and according to my chronograph,I am shooting 2480fps.I am sure my chronogragh is reading low,so I started playing with the velocity numbers and I can't get things to add up.I am zeroed at 200yds.,at 300 yards I dropped 8''.I then shot 492 yds,and was hitting pretty much center with 33 clicks elevation(1/4 moa).Then I had to elevate to 90 clicks at 810 yds.Based on the info. I have,is there any way I can get this mystery figured out?

Where you are shooting is there any canyon, cross canyon, elevation change or wind that could be affecting your shooting in any way?

Do you have access to anyone that has a quality chrono?

What scope and mounts are you using?

How did you determine the yardages?

Last edited:
I am shooting in Ohio,very flat.I don't have access to a good chronograph,just the cheap one that I have.I am using a nightforce scope,bases,and rings.How much can published B.C.'s be off from actuall B.C. results?I am using a bushnell elite LRF also.I thought everything was good,I figured I was shooting 2660fps,with a b.c. of .711(sierra'a claim),that worked at 300 yds and 492 yds.But when I shot from 810 yds,I was about 10 clicks(1/4 moa) too low.

Last edited:
".711 @ 2150 fps and above
.702 between 2150 and 1800 fps
.685 @ 1800 fps and below"

Remember to input all three values.

Have you done a box test?
This is at the bottom of the list to check but good to do anyway.
NF's have a great reputation for tracking integrity, but you would eliminate one more possible variable.