need some help please

dads300winmag

Hello to all,I have been looking around and i must say this site is verry informative love it!!!.Any way I just got a rem700 sendero in300winmag love the rifle and was woundering what you all think i should do to turn it into a 600yd deer thumper??.I'm new to the long range game and understand that it's going to take some time befor i can start hunting long range.But any info you could give me would be grate thank you for you time and info:D

Do you reload or shoot factory ammo? As long as it is sporting good glass, that rifle will do 600yds easily.

Yep, the cartridge is already ready for 600 yd game taking.

All that remains is getting the rifle/scope/load prepared and getting yourself up to speed and you're ready to go.

Mess around with JBM ballistics (google) and to get the drops at distance and a possible bullet and load then load 'em up, get a good sub MOA group @ 100 then start extending the range.

Keep us posted on progress and with questions.

Regards

Not sure what the factory weight on the Sendero trigger is, but you may want to have it adjusted to 1.5 to 2 lbs. This will help in achieving better groups. To heavy of a trigger can throw shots. Lighter is better. I know some guys completely replace the factory trigger with an aftermarket to get that accuracy edge. Reloading for your rifle will definitely be a plus. It will gain the most accuracy out of your rifle that you want to achieve. Stick with 175grn and heavier bullets. To go farther than 800yds, look into 190 grain and heavier bullets to really carry the energy out there. I would suggest to look in to HSM and Hornady Superformance ammo. They seem to be the best options. Also Black Hills and Cor Bon. Black Hills and Hornady should be the more affordable, so I would start there. Optics is definitely a smart move if you haven't purchased already.

Tank