Need Help

huntinhobo

Howdy,
I am new to this sight and really to shooting past 300 yards with my big game rifles, and was wanting to know if you guys had any advice on what load i should use for 30-338. I am wanting to be able to hit a pop can at 500 plus with no problem. I was thinking a 180 grain Barnes triple shock????
Any thoughts???????

I run high BC, match quality, bullets. I would start with Bergers 230 Hybrid. Second choice, SMK 240, requires 9 twist, but would likely work in a ten in the 30-378. Third choice would be a 200 grain Accubond.

If Barnes are what you like, they'll certainly work well for your range. Five hundred yards quickly becomes a chip shot. The big, high BC bullets really pay off at longer ranges. Get a 230 shooting well, and you'll have a mile of reach.

The big bullets also really help in efficient powder burn in the big cases. This equalls better velocity spreads and better accuracy at long range.

I run high BC, match quality, bullets. I would start with Bergers 230 Hybrid. Second choice, SMK 240, requires 9 twist, but would likely work in a ten in the 30-378. Third choice would be a 200 grain Accubond.

If Barnes are what you like, they'll certainly work well for your range. Five hundred yards quickly becomes a chip shot. The big, high BC bullets really pay off at longer ranges. Get a 230 shooting well, and you'll have a mile of reach.

The big bullets also really help in efficient powder burn in the big cases. This equalls better velocity spreads and better accuracy at long range.

+1

I used the 200 gr SMK at 1000 yard + targets with great success in the 30/338 and feel that the
200 gr bullets should be minimum to get the most out of this round.

With so many good bullets in the range of 200 to 250 grains it is just a matter of which one
your rifle likes best.

J E C USTOM

Thanks a bunch, what scopes do you guys run?