need help picking a caliber

jlane709

hi i am new to lrh and i was hoping some of would be able to help me choose a caliber for the howa m1500 varminter with the knoxx axiom stock. i have been looking at the .300 win mag and the 7mm rem mag, and have shown a little interest in the 30-06. i am going to use it for hunting. i live in oregon so i mostly hunt deer and elk but i have also hunted bear and shot at them for that matter so i want something big enough to bring one down. i will be doing some target shooting and varmint hunting as well. cost of ammo is not an issue. i would love to hear from anyone who has advice for me, and if anyone has anything to say about the knoxx axiom stock would be appreciated as well thanks.

If I was going to hunt grizzly and had the 3 choices of cartridges you have listed, I would choose the .300 Win Mag. I would rather be over-gunned hunting varmints than under-gunned hunting grizzly.

+1...

justgotoRe: need help picking a caliber
If I was going to hunt grizzly and had the 3 choices of cartridges you have listed, I would choose the .300 Win Mag. I would rather be over-gunned hunting varmints than under-gunned hunting grizzly

Of the three I would go with the 300 mag. Personly im waiting in a 338 edge but that a bit big for coyotes. with the 300 I would say you are going to have the biggest selection on bullets my second choice would be the 7mm rem but that just my two two cents.

I don't think that a 30-06 is a long range elk gun, they have their place and work well but I think most folks around here would say that it runs out of steam a little too soon to suit them.