Need help figuring out what heighth of scope ring to buy

blakeD2233

I bought a Vortex Viper PST 6-24x50 that will be here in the middle of the week. I have a hunt this coming weekend and would like to have it mounted and sighted in before this weekend. For this to happen I need to order rings before the scope get here so they will be here in time. I planned on ordering some from the vortex website but can not decide what height to order. My scope base is about 5/8 of an inch above the barrel and it is a picatinny base. Can anyone help me with what height I would need. Sorry this is my first time buying scope rings and without the scope in hand it's hard for me to decide what to buy.

missing a couple of details to determine that answer, what kind of rifle and barrel contour is this scope being mounted??

Most scopes with a 50mm objective lens will require a high ring, unless its a thin barrel contour then you may be able to get away with a medium, if the contour of the barrel is larger, then super high may be needed.

But tough to say without the details mentioned above

I have the same scope as you are getting on my Remington 700P. They are sitting in a set of Burris Extreme medium height rings. Works fine. Been thinking about setting in some low rings to see if it would work.

Hope this is some help.

Jason

I have a Vortex Viper with a 44mm objective lens mounted on my Ruger American 308Win with a barrel that tapers down to pencil thin tube very quickly and there is room for a 50mm lens scope with the medium weaver style rings, but if it were on a heavy barreled rifle I would need high rings even with the 44mm. I probably could have gotten by with low rings but the mediums don't bother me at all.