Need help deciding on a cal or rifle for first build

hunter516

Hey guys any info would help alot and would be greatly appreciated. Im new to long range shooting but not to hunting and would like to get some suggestions on a rifle or caliber for my first build. I currently hunt deer with a win. model 70 in 7mm mag and another mdl 70 in 270 wsm but would like to build a rifle. Would the mdl 70 be ok or would i need anothe rifle to start with? I would like a 300 wm or a 300 rum but if one of the rifles i have would work i would be ok with that. Any suggestions? Thanks

I have tried out a few rifles in the 30 cal catagory like the 300 wm and rum and have shot a few bigger rifles like the 338 wm and lapua so i have kind of an idea what i want but would love more incite from more experienced people

Hey guys any info would help alot and would be greatly appreciated. Im new to long range shooting but not to hunting and would like to get some suggestions on a rifle or caliber for my first build. I currently hunt deer with a win. model 70 in 7mm mag and another mdl 70 in 270 wsm but would like to build a rifle. Would the mdl 70 be ok or would i need anothe rifle to start with? I would like a 300 wm or a 300 rum but if one of the rifles i have would work i would be ok with that. Any suggestions? Thanks

did you shoot them at long range? how did they work??

I have shot the 7mm out to 400 yards and the best i could get it to do was 5.5". The wsm was a little better a 400 with 5 shots in a 4.5" group but that is without reloading for either one so i know i can get them to do better. The more i research the more im thinking of building the 7mm but i cant decide. Im hoping for a 1000 yard rifle but i dont know if im expecting too much from the model 70 action

it is not the action . it is the barrel . national champions use the model 70 and model 700 among others.