need help 7mm08 for long range hunting caliber??

Elkwonder

Ok guys here is the deal, I was talking to someone about loading today for my 270 wsm and was schooled pretty quikly about its performance. I was talking to a guy that said he uses his 7mm08 for everytghing up to elk. I came home and ran the numbers through the bergers website, and was floored. Turns out that the 08 is a very sick round for no more powder than it uses. I ran the 270 mag with berger 150 because thats the best bc. I ran it at 2900fps. I ran the 08 at 2600 fps with the 168 grain because of its bc. Inside of 500 yards the 270 wins, but beyond that the 08 starts pulling ahead. At 1000 yards the 08 has more knock down, and less wind drift. IT does have about 50 inches more drop, but that is made up for with dialing the scope. AM I missing something here? I am new to this and If my figures are right, it looks like the 7mm08 is actually just as good a round at longer distances and kicks about half as much. Can anyone comment on this as I am looking at the 08 and beginning to want one, my 270 wsm kicks a little harder than I like. By the way, the rifle will be used mainly for whitetails in the beanfields here in missouri, andthe occasional muley and elk once in a while. Thanks for helping a newby.

I say 284 winchester, it has the capacity to move that .617bc 168grn vld at about 3025fps from a heavyish 26" 9.5 twist barrel and less recoil than your short mag. It will alway make a 7mm-08 look back and is stepping on 7mm rem mag toes with half the recoil! Just a thought, an ackley 280 will have similar results but brass cost more or you have to form it and it kicks a tid bit harder.

I like the 140 accubond in my 270 wsm however I'm pushing it at 3425 fps over my ohler chrono. The small case of the 7mm-08 won't hang with the extra velocity of the wsm for as far as I should really be shooting either of the cartridges at game.