Need groove advise...3 or 6?

Doublezranch

I am in the market for a new barrel. I am leaning toward a Lilja in a .308 sendero contour. The part I am having trouble with is the grooves. I have no idea the pros and cons of the too. I am currently shooting 230 Bergers with very good success with a factory 26' barrel.

I need your help....please explain the difference and the best choice for selecting a appropriate groove for a 28' sendero barrel.

Thank you very much!

I am by no means an expert but the three groove will not put a land opposite another land which the 6 groove will. I have heard one reason is the idea behind non opposing lands is theoretically less stress on the bullet. Below Dan Lilja talks about less throat erosion.

I have had two 3 groove liljas. Can't say if the number three is the cause BUT once the throats became worn they would cause VLDs to become damaged and the rifle would shoot flyers. The same thing might happen with a 6 groove but don't know.

Here is what I HAVE observed:

First 3 groove was an ill advised 1 in 7 twist in 7 Rem mag to shoot the 180 VLD. At round count 225 or so the rifle would shoot occasional flyers that would diverge as much as 3 ft off POI at 100 yds! I think the twist was responsible for the bullet coming apart with such a low round count.

The second 3 groove faired better. It is a 1 in 10 twist 257 weatherby. I shot 115 VLDs to approx. round count of 550 then began to shoot flyers. Not as far off POI but enough for me to switch to a bullet that would not be affected by the rough throat. Now shooting a 110 accubond. Round count is close to 1000 and while it is a nasty fouler and looks horrid through a borescope it still is very accurate.

I have no idea if a 6 groove would have done the same thing or not.

Here is what Dan Lilja says:

Q. What are the differences between 3 Groove and 6 Groove Barrels?