My Mauser 260 Build Finished w/ Range Report

Tamarac

This past weekend I was finally able to shoot groups at 100 yards with what is a completed 98 Mauser in 260 Rem that I've been working on for a few years. I wish I had photos of the build process to share, but sadly only have some of the completed rifle.

The rifle started as a 98 Czech Mauser purchased for 50-60 bucks about 15 years ago. Stock was semi-inletted and opened to accept a 1-9" Shillen #3 contour barrel. Barrel is 27" long. I had the original bolt handle torched and re-welded to what is currently seen in the pictures. Trigger is a Timeney Featherweight set at 1.5-2#. Ammo shot was a 123 gr SMK in front of 38.5gr of IMR 4064. The grouping was 5 shots at .42moa at 100 yards. I'll post more when I get an opportunity to shoot something farther.
Note: The last picture was taken 6 months ago when we had snow...

Attachments

• 260_Mauser.jpeg
    260_Mauser.jpeg
    56.1 KB · Views: 141
  • 260_Mauser_Action.jpg
    260_Mauser_Action.jpg
    140.2 KB · Views: 121
  • 260_5Shots.jpg
    260_5Shots.jpg
    82.7 KB · Views: 124
Last edited:
Very nice! Who made the stock?

I've got an Oberndorf GEW98 action that is going to become a 6.5mm something. I'm bouncing back and forth between a 260 and a 6.5x55. I'm leaning toward the Swede at the moment, but that's subject to change.

As for the load, I'm a huge fan of IMR-4064. Except for right now. It's the most consistent powder I've found in almost everything I shoot and I can't find _any_ right now. I've only got 1 lb left. It's the only powder I use that I haven't seen for almost a year.

Matt

Matt,
I wish I could tell you who made the stock. My dad bought a bunch of rough inletted Mauser stocks 20-30 years ago from a guy in Missouri going out of business. He's had em on the shelf ever since and offered this up for my build. I graciously accepted and opened the stock up and glass bedded it. I finished it with some sealer and polish from Birchwood Casey.