Muzzlebrakes

G

What affect besides less recoil and more noise does a muzzle break give a barrel. I'm kind of new at this LRH but trying to catch up fast so forgive my ignorance. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif But what I'm getting at is this. Does a Muzzle break that is 2"s long increase your barrel performance like a 2" longer barrel would or dosen't it make any differance in the barrels volocity. I'm sorry if its a dumb question but I tried to find something somewhere on the board that pertained to this and found nothing.

The added length of the brake does not do any thing positive for velocity so no your not gonna see any increase with any style brake.
The brake simply redirects the gases that are leaving the muzzel out to the sides so it helps reduce the rearward thrust.
Generaly speaking the higher the capacity the cartridge has the more effective the brake is ,you have to look at the precentages on the recoil , Like a Holland brake will be more effective at reducing X% of recoil on a 300RUM than on a 308Win. In the end the 308 will probably kick less because it started out with way less but you may actualy only get a 35% reduction out of the smaller 308 than with say a 65% in the 300RUM.

If this make no sense I'll repost tomorrow , I've had a couple drinks tonight.

Made perfect sense JD. Answered my question thats been in my mind ever since I bought my two new rifles. Holland is also the brake that I have been looking at so I"m more than happy with the answer. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

The Holland brake is a good one but their are several others out their that work as well maybe better for about the same price and a little more user friendy to your barrel fit.
Shawn Carlock makes some brakes and from what I understand those are what he and Kirby are using exclusivly. I'm having 308Nate build me a 260 right now and I'm having him put his brake on it , not that this caliber is gonna need it but his brake sure looks cool.