Muzzle Brake In 300 Winchester Magnum

G0vernor

I am about to have a go at some long range shooting, occasionally hunting. I have been shooting for many years but nothing bigger that 308 and I would appreciate some advice. At this stage I have decided to get 300 Winchester Magnum (I have contemplated 338 Win Mag) and I don't think that I will change my mind – availability of cheap ammo without a need to reload being the main, but not the only factor. My specific question is in regard to muzzle brake. I understand that by having one installed the recoil will be greatly reduced but there are some drawbacks, especially if occasional use without hearing protection may be required. On the other hand I am quite prepared to increase the overall weight of the rifle (mercury in the stock or whatever) and fit heavy duty recoil pad. Am I kidding myself thinking that I will be able to shoot 40 rounds in the afternoon and not suffer for days afterwards if I go without a muzzle brake?
Thanks

Unless your five feet tall and weigh about 100 pounds I don't see much of a reason for one. You can always shoot the rifle and see how it feels. If you decide you want one then go for it.

I am six feet tall and weigh more than 200 pounds, but I am still bit weary when it comes to recoil. On the other hand I am quite willing to increase the weight of the rifle considerably. This leads to another question, how much would I have to add to the weight of a "standard" rifle to make the recoil manageable/acceptable? I am not that keen to modify the rifle and increase its weight only to find out that muzzle brake must be fitted anyway.
Cheers

Big guys get hit alot harder by recoil than little guys. Simple laws of physics- a big guy has more mass to move and the little guy can "roll" with the punch easier.
A good recoil pad and some weight will help but don't forget about accumulative recoil on those 40 or 100 round days. It will add up and take its toll.