Model 70 actions

openlake

I am relatively new to true LRH. All of my rifles for LRH are factory built. I have been considering getting a rifle built from the ground up so to speak. I have always had a love affair with the Model 70 style actions. I know there are a ton of people that use the Remington model 700 actions, but what are the pros and cons on using this style action as the foundation for a new rifle?
confused.gif
Thanks for any input.

This might be heresy around here but I am with you in preferring the M-70. I have used them for many years, both push-feed and controlled round feeding.
Fact is that both Rem and Win are good actions, and they can both be improved a bunch by a good gunsmith. Here are a some of my opinions on the M-70's, usually vs Remington since they seem to be compared so much.
I find that the M-70 is easier to insert rounds into the mag - might be I am inherently clumsy but the Win action cutout is bigger and makes it easier to get rounds into the mag well. Some Rem. actions require that the round fit back inside the opening to sit back on the lifter.
M-70 trigger assemblies are quite easy to adjust and they stay set. There is no inter-relationship to the safety although you can overdo it so that the sear doesn't engage. Anyone can adjust a M-70 trigger but unlike the Rem. it requires removing metal so you must be very careful. There is a factory designed trick that ensures perfect stoning of the sear hook that makes the job easy. I use a Lansky knife sharpening stone, works great.
Many smiths seem to tout the installation of a "Sako-style" extractor into the Rem. bolt face to improve extraction, whereas you just don't have to do that with Win. pushfeeds.
The M-70 bolt disassembles in seconds, no tools or coins or whatever so it is easy to clean and lube inside.