Meat care in the back counrty

NYSHUNTER

Just wondering on some other techniques on handling meat care in the back country.

My method is to get the meat cooled asap by hanging it up where the wind blows quite nicely, but recently a friend sent me a video clip with some well known back country hunters talking about soaking the meat in streams or a lake to cool it faster. Has any one tried this out and what was the result ? Also they talked about using citrus acid on the meat which i have never done before.. Any thoughts ?

I have had no problems with doing it the same way you already do. Getting it cool by hanging it in the coolest place out of the sun and keeping it dry has always worked great. On the other hand anytime I have had meat get wet I have had spoilage. I have even found ice melting in a cooler and getting the meat wet even though it is still cold to do damage.
I personally would never put meat in a stream or lake unless you had some high quality water proof bags to put it in to keep the meat dry then it would make sense to me to do that.
I would also think that unless I was willing to drink the water out of said stream or lake I sure would not want to put it on meat that I was planning on eating.

I have on an early Sept. elk hunt when it was 75 degrees out hung the meat over a stream in the shade seamed to be the coolest spot I could find

I've never submerged in a stream but that certainly could work in warm temps with a heavy construction grade garbage bag or something similar.

I just hang in a cool spot like you are doing.

At my truck I have several 120 quart coolers and keep one of them filled with frozen water bottles. I can fit 1/2 an elk in one cooler (front & rear quarter plus a backstrap and heart and other small boned meat like neck/rib/etc) in a single cooler. Then surround all the meat with frozen water bottles. When the ice melts it stays in the water bottles and does not get the meat wet.