Max effictive range of factory bullets?

M_Shock

So I'm pretty new to the long range world, and one very common theme I've noticed is "you'll only reach max potential with a rifle if you hand-load". Now I'm sure that this is correct but is it necessary for hunting situations?

Lets say I want to be able to take large game out to 800 yards, is this possible with factory ammo(300 win mag, in case your wondering)? If so, what would be your top pic for brand and grain?

I guess I'll find out sooner or later when I put my rifle together for next year and hit the range with it, but I wanted to hear some opinions first.

Now, I don't have the time to learn re-loading just yet, but I definitely plan on it. Plus there isn't a lot of space to set up a loading bench in my apartment. :D

If it is doable, I want you to know that as an inexperienced long range shooter I'm not gonna go out next season and start flinging bullets at animals 800 yards out just because you say it's "possible". I am very intrigued with long range shooting, but I have too much respect for the animal to take a shot unless I know 100% that I can hit where I'm aiming, and I understand it takes practice to become proficient at these ranges.

thanks,
Matt

When you read "max potential ", it means consistency and or accuracy from YOUR particular barrel.
It doesn't mean power, or max distance.

It is a sad fact, and hard for people to believe, but no 2 barrels are the same. On the other hand, ammo is very consistent.
As such, off the shelf guns shoot differently from one another using same ammo. So when you buy a gun and plan to use factory ammo, you'll find that there are maybe 1 or 2 types of ammo that shoot well enough in YOUR gun. It is not predictable either.
This tends to set your limits, as HITTING game is more important than pretty much anything else.