Marines Eliminate Elite Scout Sniper Platoons

So where does all that leave this push for a new sniper rifle?
We (schoolhouse) got them 8 months back, it may take a matter of years before all units have them. The current problem is ammo for the .300 & .338 Norma. We turned in our M2010 .300 WinMags and M107 .50 cals.

Not a Marine, have heard that military brass are figuring that going forward, fighting will be electronic, non personnel, soldiers and Marines not required.
Mike
as a old soldier I think this is a huge mistake.
This is like when they built the f4 without guns because they thought the rockets would be all they needed, wrong!

Snipers are labeled "The most deadly men on the battlefield" for a reason. However the Army has been slowly drifting the way the Marines just went for a while. You would be surprised as to how even my command has treated us at the sniper school (and of the two Army sniper schools, we are the highest producer of graduates). I have been laughed at and told at least twice in the past year that nobody cares and the sniper school is not a priority to anyone. People look at me funny when I tell them our budget is so bad that we sometimes cannot support even daily operations. The last class I was in charge I spent my own money buying paint for targets, toilet paper, and get a box of fuses for our government truck that we use for range operations. I actually feel bad about retiring, they finally broke me after 20+ years of service. This is my last week before I go on terminal leave.
Good for you putting the 20 in. I could not last. To much politics in it for me. I never liked the dog & pony shows. When in the field. It was a great time. But we rarely spent much time there. We spent more time doing guard duty on empty complexes. In Germany when the EG wall came down it was a easy out. And I took it.