Lost please help

SAM1980

I'm new to reloading, I have been working up various ladder tests using berger vld bullets out of my 1903 a3 custom. I have noticed that during the ladder tests that I would get drops in velocities for three or four rounds, even with .4 grain increases in powder charge. Anyone every see this in there test load work ups. What is causing this. I thought that I might have found some accuracy nodes at 51.8, 52.2, 53.0, and 54.0. So I loaded up some 4 shot group tests at these charges. Boy was I wrong it shot all over the place at 200 yards. Tightest group was around 3moa! the velocities started out high and steadily dropped off during each string. Some times as much as 80 fps.

Components are
Nosler 30.06 springfield brass
Winchester LRM primers
Berger 210gr target vlds
using 51.8 to 54.0 grains of H4350
Seat bullets .07 into the lands at 3.363 oval with horday oal gauge

I have been measuring my rounds from base too ogive with a hornady oal comparator kit. I noticed while loading that they will measure a little different from round to round. But not much maybe .005 to .015. Would this cause that big of difference?

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say you probably don't have a VLD seating stem in your seating die...and you're seating bullets from the tip instead of the ogive.

Thats whats causing the varying seating depth...

Seating bullets from the tip isn't good...(1) they're often seated crooked (run out)...and (2) they're not seated at the same depth....both of which can cause velocities to vary and poor accuracy/

My seating die is a forester ultra micrometer looked up on there website and they say that it will properly seat most vld bullets. So I took the stem out of mine and checked it using the burger target vlds that I'm loading and it is seating them from the ogive and not the tip.